RUGBY SCRUMMAGE
- STILL IN DOUBT FORMATION AND RULES WELLIN G'f'ON, Friday. Although the annual meeting of the New Zealand Rugby Union last week recommended, by a large majority, that a scrummage formation providing for three players in the front row be adopted and that the wing-forward be abolished, it seems that a certain amount of uncertainty still exists as to the effect of the recommendation. In some quarters it is being stated that a 3-2-3 formation ^has been decided upon. For instance, "at this week's meeting of the Otago Rugby Union's Management Committee, Mr. H. Harris, in reporting upon the business done at the New Zealand Union's annual meeting, stated that a resolution had been carried to the effect that New Zealand adopt the 3-2-3 formation. That, however, is not the position. No set formation was recommended. What was desired was that teams should place three men in the front row of the scrummage instead of two as previously. No breach of the rules is being committed if a team continues to play the old formation with two men in the front row; in fact, teams are entitled to play any formation they like so long as not more than three men are placed in the front row of the scrummage. However, it is recommended that three men be placed in the front row and the wingforward abolished. As to the position regarding the new scrummage rule, concerning which there has been much argument, there still appears to be a good deal of confusion. The idea that the ball must pass three feet on either side before it can be hooked has not yet been removed completely. While the first three feet cannot be raised or advanced until it has passed them, the ball is fairly in the scrummage when it has passed two feet on either side and it can then be played by the fourth feet in the scrummage. It is possible, therefore, for one of the fourth feet to hook the ball before any of the first three feet on either side are permitted to be raised. Surprising Interpretation A surprising interpretation of the rule was given at this week's meeting of the Canterbury Referees' Association by Mr. S. Hollander, president of the association, who was one of the delegates to the New Zealand Union's annual meeting. Once the ball was legally in the scrum (i.e., passed two feet on either side) and had been played by the fourtli foot, the ball could be played by any foot. The rule regarding the first three feet remaining on the ground no longer had any force. That interpretation, however, is not likely to receive the sanction of the New Zealand Rugby Union's Management Committee, as the new rule distinctly states that the first three feet of the front row forwards shall not be raised or advanced until it has passed them. The following question was raised in England recently: What would happen in the event of the ball, on being put in the scrummage, stopping at the third foot of the front row with the loose head, the ball having passed only two feet of the opposing side? The following reply was given: The ball would be fairly in the scrummage and can, therefore, he hooked by the fourth or outside feet of the middle men.
Permanent link to this item
https://paperspast.natlib.govt.nz/newspapers/RMPOST19320426.2.65
Bibliographic details
Rotorua Morning Post, Volume 1, Issue 207, 26 April 1932, Page 7
Word Count
557RUGBY SCRUMMAGE Rotorua Morning Post, Volume 1, Issue 207, 26 April 1932, Page 7
Using This Item
NZME is the copyright owner for the Rotorua Morning Post. You can reproduce in-copyright material from this newspaper for non-commercial use under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International licence (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0). This newspaper is not available for commercial use without the consent of NZME. For advice on reproduction of out-of-copyright material from this newspaper, please refer to the Copyright guide.