Question and Answer About Rugby
A Referee Interprets The Rules in the broadcast talks and Listener O much interest has been taken articles on the rules of Rugby, and so many doubtful points raised for on that George Bradley, Chairman of the Executive of the New Zealand Rugby Referees’ Association, agreed to answer a questionnaire. The result is offered in the form of question and answer.
Q.-tThere seers to be some doubt about the application of the Advantage Rule; should a referee wait to see if the non-offending side gains an advantage, say, from a not-straight thrown-in from touch? A-The Advantage Rule cannot be applied to a throw-in from touch. The other phases of the game in which the laws exclude the application of the Advantage Rule are: kick-off, drop-out, free kick, and penalty kick. Q.-Does the definition of a "kick" include the knee? A-yYes. A kick is made with a foot, or leg from the knee to the toe inclusive. Q.-Then a player is quite in order in taking a free kick or a penalty if he bounces the ball on the knee? A-yYes; provided, of course, that the ball goes the necessary distance. Q.-If an infringement occurs in-goal the goal line becomes the mark. Is that correct? A.-No, For an infringement by an attacking player, a touch-down is allowed. For a knock-on or throw forward by a defender, a scrummage five yards in field of play must be ordered. With the ball made dead in in-goal after a defender has wilfully kicked, passed, knocked or carried the ball back over his own goal line, a scrummage at the spot where the ball was kicked, is ordered unless a try is obtained. If a penalty kick is awarded to the attackers the defenders may come up to the goal line, and the ball, when kicked, must reach that line unless first played by a defender. Q.-Nothing, then, can prevent a player from taking his penalty, say from a spot 2 or 3 inches from the line, bouncing the ball on his knee so that it actually crosses the goal line and pressing the ball for a try? A-lIt is quite sufficient if the ball reaches the goal line. It does not have to cross. Q.-May a player putting the ball into the scrum indicate by word or otherwise to his forwards how or when the ball is being put in? For example, may a halfback shout "ball, this side, coming, weight," etc., or touch the front rank man nearest him as an indication which side the ball is to-enter the scrum? A.-A player may indicate when the ball is to be put in. As to touching a player, the half-back must stand not less than three feet from the scrummage and put the ball in with both hands below the knee. so that if he first touched his
playe: the Referee may be justified in penalising him for not putting in without delay. Q.-Can a player overtaking an opponent also running for the ball push him from behind, particularly when the opponent is bending to pick up the ball? A.-No. Nor may he charge that player in any way except shoulder to shoulder. (This rule has only been in force comparatively recently.) Q.-Exactly what is the ruling in the instance of a player going down on the ball in the face of a forward rush? A.-This is a very large question and somewhat involved. I will divide it as follows: (a) A player lying on the ground with the ball in his possession must immediately play the ball, or get up, or roll away from the ball.
(b) He may play the ball in any way he wishes, provided, of course, that he does not knock-on or throw forward. (c) If he has possession of the ball an opponent may shift him with his hands, but on no account may an opponent use his feet except to play the ball. (d) There is nothing in the laws which prohibits a player from forcibly removing a member of his own team who is lying on the player with the ball. but he has no right to remove an opponent in such a position. Q.-Many people believe that a player lying on the ground must not play the ball in any way. Is this correct?
A.-Except after a tackle has occurred, or in a scrummage, the player may play the ball in any way. (See previous question. ) Q.-If a free kick or a penalty is taken | from behind the goal line and the ball strikes a goal post and bounces back, may the kicker then force down? A.-Another kick must be taken. The ball must cross the goal line, unless first | played by an opponent. (This is the only | occasion where the ball must pass the | position named. In other cases the terms | used are: "reach" or "not less than.") | The reason why the ball is required to cross the goal line is that it must leave the in-goal area before it is playable | by the kicker’s team, and as the goal line is in-goal the ball must cross that line when kicked from in-goal. Q.-In taking a penalty kick a player elects to kick the ball from less than 10 yards from his opponents’ goal line, the infringement having occurred in the opponents’ in-goal. From the kick the ball strikes the posts or cross-bar and rebounds, May the attacking side play the ball? A.-Yes. The goal posts are erected on the goal line and the ball has only to reach that line, Q.-It is quite a frequent happening for the ball to be buried under a mixture of players over a goal line. In cases like this a referee usually awards a scrum five yards out. As he must be in doubt as to who first grounded the ball should he not give the benefit of the doubt to the defending team and signal for a drop-out? A.-The referee should allow a touch down if he is unable to decide who first grounded the ball. (There is no question of benefit of doubt. A rule covers the point). Q.-What is the procedure if the ba!l strikes a spectator standing behind the goal line? | A.-The referee should award a try if one would have been scored, or a touchdown if one would have been obtained, or the ball would have gone dead. The law provides that if in doubt, the referee should give a decision in favour of the visiting team. (In larger towns where all ground arrangements are made by the local union, there is no "visiting team," and if in doubt, a touch-down should be awarded). Q.-May a player appeal? May the captain of a team appeal? A.-No player, not even the captain of the team, has any right to appeal for the whistle to be blown because an infringement has occurred. Q.-If a team takes the field with more than 15 men, what action, if any, should the referee take? A.-When objection is made by the opposing team, the excess players must
leave the field, but any score previously obtained, must stand. Each team is responsible to see that its opponents have not more than fifteen players. It is not the duty of the referee to count the players.
Permanent link to this item
Hononga pūmau ki tēnei tūemi
https://paperspast.natlib.govt.nz/periodicals/NZLIST19400531.2.47.1
Bibliographic details
Ngā taipitopito pukapuka
New Zealand Listener, Volume 2, Issue 49, 31 May 1940, Page 38
Word count
Tapeke kupu
1,221Question and Answer About Rugby New Zealand Listener, Volume 2, Issue 49, 31 May 1940, Page 38
Using this item
Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi
Material in this publication is protected by copyright.
Are Media Limited has granted permission to the National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa to develop and maintain this content online. You can search, browse, print and download for research and personal study only. Permission must be obtained from Are Media Limited for any other use.
Copyright in the work University Entrance by Janet Frame (credited as J.F., 22 March 1946, page 18), is owned by the Janet Frame Literary Trust. The National Library has been granted permission to digitise this article and make it available online as part of this digitised version of the New Zealand Listener. You can search, browse, and print this article for research and personal study only. Permission must be obtained from the Janet Frame Literary Trust for any other use.
Copyright in the Denis Glover serial Hot Water Sailor published in 1959 is owned by Pia Glover. The National Library has been granted permission to digitise this serial and make it available online as part of this digitised version of the Listener. You can search, browse, and print this serial for research and personal study only. Permission must be obtained from Pia Glover for any other use.