RUGBY ARGUMENT
SECOND KICK AT GOAL AUCKLAND REFEREES’ RULING (By Telegraph.—press Association) AUCKLAND, Thursday The second kick at goal with which Wesney converted Southland’s final try against Auckland to turn a draw into a two-point margin win for Southland last Saturday should not have been allowed. This is the decision of the Auckland Rugby Referees’ Association, and it is based on the ground that the referee did not see an Auckland player out on the field in front of his goal posts. The kick was taken and was unsuccessful, the referee washing out the kick as abortive by a signal with his hands. This determined his decision that, the try was not converted. The decision could not be altered under any circumstances, and consequently he was in error in complying with Saxton's appeal for a second kick.
Permanent link to this item
Hononga pūmau ki tēnei tūemi
https://paperspast.natlib.govt.nz/newspapers/WT19390915.2.122
Bibliographic details
Ngā taipitopito pukapuka
Waikato Times, Volume 125, Issue 20910, 15 September 1939, Page 11
Word count
Tapeke kupu
137RUGBY ARGUMENT Waikato Times, Volume 125, Issue 20910, 15 September 1939, Page 11
Using this item
Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi
Stuff Ltd is the copyright owner for the Waikato Times. You can reproduce in-copyright material from this newspaper for non-commercial use under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International licence (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0). This newspaper is not available for commercial use without the consent of Stuff Ltd. For advice on reproduction of out-of-copyright material from this newspaper, please refer to the Copyright guide.