Thank you for correcting the text in this article. Your corrections improve Papers Past searches for everyone. See the latest corrections.

This article contains searchable text which was automatically generated and may contain errors. Join the community and correct any errors you spot to help us improve Papers Past.

Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image

RUGBY RULINGS

The following are some of the Conference remits and decisions. Waipawa Rugby Referees’ Association.—Kick into Touch Rule; During the Canterbury v. Hawke’s Bay Ranfurly Shield match, (he Hawke’s Bay full-back ran back into his own 25 yards mark to fake advantage of above. Is this legal —Yes. Decisions of the Executive on questions submitted by Affiliated Associations, and passed at the Dunedin Conference, 1926: — 1. Question. —The ball is touched down on the dead ball line. Should the decision in this case be a try or not? Decision. —No try. 2. Question. —What is the correct interpretation of the ball being properly placed for a kick at goal:—(a) What would the decision be in tire event of the ball being placed on the ground after a try had been scored and the ball became unplaced? Could the kicker successfully kick a goal Decision.—Yes. (b) In the event of the ball still moving owing to the action of the wind, could lie in this instance kick a goal without the

ball being placed in its original position. Decision.—lf the ball is still rolling-, no goal can be kicked. 3. Question. —In the event of a player taking a mark in bis in goal and deliberately kicking into toueh-in-goal, should the referee order another kick, as the ball has not crossed the goal line, or should ho award a five-yards’ scrum for deliberately kicking into touch-in-goal? Decision. —Another kick to lie ordered. 4. Question. —(2a) A defending side taking a free kick in its own in-goal and the ball hits the goal posts and rebounds back in-goal, and an attacking player touches down, should a try be awarded, or should another kick lie ordered, as the ball has not crossed the goal line? Decision. —A try to be awarded. 5. Question. —The same thing happening, only one of the defending side touches down. Should a force-down be awarded, or another kick be ordered? Decision. —Another kick to be ordered. 7. Question. —What is the recognised practice among the major Unions regarding putting the ball in set scrums? (a) Docs the referee invariably put (he ball in, (b) or does he order a player to put the ball in? (e) If as in (b) is the ball given to the side not committing the breach, or alternately. Decision.—The instruction of this Association is: “That the ball be put in the scrummage by the non-of-fending side.” 8. Question. —Can a player beyond the ten-yards limit and deliberately waiting off-side be penalised for not: attempting to get onside? Decision.— No. f). Question. —In a kick at goal from a free-kick against the wind the ball goes between the uprights, and is then blown back. The referee is not certain if the ball went over the crossbar, and, blowing his whistle to stop tkc game, he appeals to the line umpires. One of the latter says over, the other says not. What is the ruling in the event of no goal, and where does the game re-start? Decision. —(1) The referee could only have blown his whistle to award the goal. (2) The whistle blown inadvertently automatically stops the game. A scrummage is ordered at the spot where the ball was when the whistle blew. If over the goal-line 5 yards scrummage is ordered in (lie field of play. 10, Does the “fair catch at first attempt” rule debar a player from taking a mark if the ball bounced in his arms, but is afterwards fairly held? Decision. —Yes, it must be a clean attempt in the first instance.

1.1 Question. —Is a player debarred from jumping in the air, stopping the ball with his hand, and (lien claiming a mark? Decison. — Yes.

12. Question. —Is an opponent allowed to deliberately push a player from behind with both hands whether the player has possession of the ball or not, excepting when he is pushed over the touch-line? Decision. —He can push if the player has the ball in his possession. 13. Question. —Is a referee in order in giving a free-kick against a player for appealing? In the event of the referee not being in order in awarding a free-kick, is there any other method by which such player can be penalised except by warning or ordering off Decision. —See page 51, new handbook; penalty kick not in order; the player can be ordered off the field.

14. Question. —A try has been scored and the kick at goal is about to be taken. Should the referee signal to the opposing players when the ball comes into play; i.e., by

touching the ground; such signa being made by the referee boldin' his hand aloft and dropping it tin i moment the ball touched the groudi Decision. —No; the referee shouh not indicate when the ball is actually on the ground. 15. Question. —During the progress of a game a kick at goal was taken, which, in the opinion of tin referee was successful. The referee blew his whistle and awarded a goal. Subsequently he consulted the line-umpires who advise! that the kick was unsuccessful The referee admitted that he had made an error of judgment. An appeal was lodged with the local sub-union, who disallowed the goal. Decision. —A referee cannot alter his decision, which is final. The referee’s procedure was wrong. In aIU kicks at goal the referee should consult his touch judges only when in doubt himself. 16. Question. —An attacking player simultaneously with grounding the ball for a try, touched the corner rtag. Decision. —No try; touch-in-goal. 17. Question. —An attacking player places the ball at the foot of and against the goal post on the side of the in-field. What is the decision? Decision. —A try to bo awarded. 18. Question. —A player receives the ball in the field of play, but runs behind his own goal-line to clear. In doing so he touches the referee. Decision—Scrummage is to be ordered at the spot from which the ball was carried back.

Permanent link to this item
Hononga pūmau ki tēnei tūemi

https://paperspast.natlib.govt.nz/newspapers/MH19260529.2.2

Bibliographic details
Ngā taipitopito pukapuka

Manawatu Herald, Volume XLVIII, Issue 3042, 29 May 1926, Page 1

Word count
Tapeke kupu
1,001

RUGBY RULINGS Manawatu Herald, Volume XLVIII, Issue 3042, 29 May 1926, Page 1

RUGBY RULINGS Manawatu Herald, Volume XLVIII, Issue 3042, 29 May 1926, Page 1

Help

Log in or create a Papers Past website account

Use your Papers Past website account to correct newspaper text.

By creating and using this account you agree to our terms of use.

Log in with RealMe®

If you’ve used a RealMe login somewhere else, you can use it here too. If you don’t already have a username and password, just click Log in and you can choose to create one.


Log in again to continue your work

Your session has expired.

Log in again with RealMe®


Alert