Thank you for correcting the text in this article. Your corrections improve Papers Past searches for everyone. See the latest corrections.

This article contains searchable text which was automatically generated and may contain errors. Join the community and correct any errors you spot to help us improve Papers Past.

Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image
Article image

LAWS OF RUGBY

QUESTIONS and answers. NEW ZEALAND REFEREES’ EXECUTIVE.

A meeting of the executive of the New Zealand Rugby Referees’ Association. held-recently, considered numerous points relating to the Rugby game. Questions relative to the Laws of the flame were received, and decisions thereon given as follows! Question: —A player takes a markoutside his twenty-five, and retires behind the twenty-five yard lino to take the kick. Can tie kick the ball into touch?—Decision : Yes. Question: —Does the advantage rule apply to the line-out?—Decision: Excepting in the case of the hall not alighting at right-angles and failing to reach the five-yard limit. Question: —During an interchange of kicks a defending back claimed a fair catch. Previous to doing so he was down on bis knees, and while in that position ihe came forward to meet the ball, being still on his knees when I lie caught it. Referee awarded a pen-alty-kick under law 11, section C.—■ Decision: The referee's ruling was a

correct one. Question. —An attacking player (“ A ”), 1111011 near the goal-line, knocks the hall on over the goal-line. “ B,” a defending player, in trying to gain possession, also knocks t(je ball Forward. “A” eventually secures the ball and touches down. What is the correct ruling?—Decision: Scrummage at spot where the ball was knocked by “ A. ’ ’ Question: —■Amended rules: .New subsection P. (p) Not himself running for the hall wilfully charges or obstructs an opponent who has just kicked the ball. On breach of sub-section (p) the opposite shall he awarded at their option a free-kick (a) at the place of in-

fringement (It) at Hie spot where the ball alights. It was considered possibly an error in the printing as far as clause (b) was concerned scrummage should have been inserted in place of

a Iree-kiek.—Decision : The rule is correct as printed, free-kick at (hi. Question: —A player lakes a mark outside his twenty-Jive-yard line. Jit taking the kick lie retires into his own twenty-five, and kicks the ball out on the full. Should the line-out he at the spot where the ball crosses the touchline or at the spot opposite the mark? Decision: The ball to be thrown out where it crossed the touch-line. Question: —“A” are defending, and a line-out takes place, say. two yards from the goal-line. An “A ” player throws the hall in hack on his own side of the line-out and an attacking player “Hi” steps forward and takes the ball, touching down for a try. W’fiat is the decision?—Decision: The ball must be thrown out to alight at right angles. Failure to do so scrummage ten yards out opposite the spot from where the nail was thrown.

Question: —What is the new penalty for a player stopping the hall going in live yards?—Decision: Free kick. Question :It seems to he a , very common practice to give a five-yards scrummage in the case of an attacking and a defending player touching down simultaneously. Is this correct, or should a drop-out he ordered?—Decision: Scrummage five vards out in the field opposite the spot correct. Question :—‘A’’ team had secured a try and were preparing to have a shot at goal, .lust, as “A” placer puts the hall on the ground a. dog suddenly comes oil the field and places itself in front of the ball and starts sniffing it. A player from the defending side having seen the ball put on the ground charges. “A” had no opportunity to kicl: the hull <m account of the dog being directly in front of it. On the dog noticing the charger coming lie moved away, but not before the charged had covered half the distance, which enabled him to kick the ball.

The kicker appealed for nullification of the kick. What is the correct decision?—Decision: The referee should allow the kick under sub-section (d) of law ;i. Question :—A try was scored, the ball was placed, and a goal kicked. The referee did not allow same, bis reason being that the ball was not taken out straight. The referee observed that the ball was not taken out straight, and the goal was disallowed. Is it not the duty of the referee to see that the ball is brought out straight?—Decision: The onus is on the referee to see that the hall is brought out straight. If a referee allows the ball to lie placed without drawing attention to the error and a goal is kicked the goal must stand. Question: —ln the event ol waste time taking place alter a try or forcedown. what is the penalty, and where should it take place ?—Decision : No penalty kick to he awarded. Releree has power to allow extra time for wasting time, vide law .‘i. section (f). Question: —ln flic event ol both the referee and touch-judge being unable to decide to which side the ball belongs after being kicked into touch, can the referee order a scrummage opposite the spot, or must the ball be thrown in by the defending side?—De-

cision : Referee must decide; il in doubt give to the defending side.

Question: —New rule regarding “five yards throw-in.” What is to be done when the ball in the first instance is not thrown out so as to alight at least five yards? Must the referee stop the game and order another throw?—Decision : Yes.

Question :—ls a player who wilfully prevents the hall from being thrown-in five yards still to be penalised?—Decision : Yes.

Question: —New rule regarding opponents having to remain passive on or behind the mark when a penalty free-kick is being taken. “A” opponents on ihe mark with their hands above their heads hilly extended, but remaining absolutely passive. Ts this permissible?—Decision: No: hands above head not allowed.

Question: —When is the hail again in play for the opponents after a penalty kick has been awarded? That is to sav opponents standing on or behind the mark. When can they attempt to play the ball ?—Decision : When the ball has crossed the line of the mark.

Permanent link to this item
Hononga pūmau ki tēnei tūemi

https://paperspast.natlib.govt.nz/newspapers/HOG19260622.2.30

Bibliographic details
Ngā taipitopito pukapuka

Hokitika Guardian, 22 June 1926, Page 3

Word count
Tapeke kupu
1,001

LAWS OF RUGBY Hokitika Guardian, 22 June 1926, Page 3

LAWS OF RUGBY Hokitika Guardian, 22 June 1926, Page 3

Help

Log in or create a Papers Past website account

Use your Papers Past website account to correct newspaper text.

By creating and using this account you agree to our terms of use.

Log in with RealMe®

If you’ve used a RealMe login somewhere else, you can use it here too. If you don’t already have a username and password, just click Log in and you can choose to create one.


Log in again to continue your work

Your session has expired.

Log in again with RealMe®


Alert