MANN ERRED IN FIRST DAY DECLARATION
Received Monday, 9.30 a.m. LONDON, Ju'ne 26. England's declaration at nine wickets on the first day of the -test against New Zealand has led to a statement today from the assistant secretary of Lords. This said that law 15 does not provide for a declaration on the first day of a three-day match and the -special instruction *• o umpires in 1949 states that the experimental rule, allowing a declaration in other first-class matches after 300 runs had been scored, does not apply to test matches. The New Zeaiana captain or umpires would have been justified m r efusing to aceept' a declaration at the time it was made, but any objection should have been made at that time. - Since this was not done, no dispute exists and the match will continue tomorrow in accordance with law 46. The English captain, F. G. Mann, said today: "When I declared the English innings closed on Saturday [^vening I thought that the experimental rule, which allows a declaration to be made on the first day of a three-day match, applied to the present series of test matches. I regret very much that I was wrong in this respect, but I iam very glad Indeed that we did not in fact gain any advantage from the declaration."
Permanent link to this item
https://paperspast.natlib.govt.nz/newspapers/CHRONL19490627.2.26.2
Bibliographic details
Chronicle (Levin), 27 June 1949, Page 5
Word Count
219MANN ERRED IN FIRST DAY DECLARATION Chronicle (Levin), 27 June 1949, Page 5
Using This Item
NZME is the copyright owner for the Chronicle (Levin). You can reproduce in-copyright material from this newspaper for non-commercial use under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International licence (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0). This newspaper is not available for commercial use without the consent of NZME. For advice on reproduction of out-of-copyright material from this newspaper, please refer to the Copyright guide.